Limit fields: what a free account gets
18 of the 27 tools publish what a free account gets. The reading that turns up most is “A free plan”, for 7. The table sets each tool's reading beside the words from its page. As of 2026-11-02.
| Tool | Reading | Published wording |
|---|---|---|
| AI Drama Generator | Free credits that come back | 20 credits a month on the Free plan |
| Descript | A free plan | A Free plan to try the editor and its AI tools |
| DomoAI | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Elser | A free plan | A Free plan for limited use |
| Frameo | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Genmo | Free credits once | 250 lifetime credits on the Free plan |
| HeyGen | Free credits that come back | 3 videos a month on the Free plan, each up to a minute |
| Higgsfield | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| invideo | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Kapwing | A free plan | A Free plan with 10 credits |
| Kling AI | A free plan | A Basic plan listed as free |
| Krea | Free credits that come back | 100 units a day on the Free plan |
| LTX Studio | Free credits once | 800 one-time credits on the Free plan |
| Luma | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| MagicLight | A free plan | A free start with limited credits |
| Midjourney | No free plan on the web | No free trial on the website or in Discord |
| Morphic | A free plan | A Free plan with up to 20 credits |
| OiiOii | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| OpenArt | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Pika | A free account, credits bought | A Free plan with no monthly credits; credits come from packs |
| Pippit | Free credits that come back | Free daily credits on the Free plan |
| PopShort | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Runway | Free credits once | 125 one-time credits on the Free plan |
| SceneMixer | Free credits once | 50 credits on sign-up |
| Synthesia | Free credits that come back | 500 credits and 10 minutes of video a month on the free Basic plan |
| Topview | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read (2026-11-02) |
| Vidu | A free plan | A Free plan with 10 references a month |
Inclusion rule. All 27 tools on the sheet. Order. Alphabetical by tool name.
1What this limit covers
This limit records what an account gets before any money changes hands. 5 tools give free credits that come back on a schedule, 4 give free credits once, 7 describe a free plan without a renewing credit figure, 1 open a free account whose credits must be bought, 1 say there is no free plan on the web, and 9 pricing pages say nothing about a free start.
Beside the allowance, 4 pages say free output carries a watermark and 1 page says it does not, 1 page rules out commercial use on the free plan, 6 pages say no card is needed to start and 1 page asks for a payment method to unlock the free credits.
For a series, a free start is a test bench rather than a budget: it shows whether the characters hold and the workflow fits before a plan is chosen. Credits that come back every day or month allow a slow test over weeks; a one-time grant has to be spent on the scenes that answer the most questions.
2Readings and the tools behind them
- Free credits that come back: AI Drama Generator, HeyGen, Krea, Pippit and Synthesia
- Free credits once: Genmo, LTX Studio, Runway and SceneMixer
- A free plan: Descript, Elser, Kapwing, Kling AI, MagicLight, Morphic and Vidu
- A free account, credits bought: Pika
- No free plan on the web: Midjourney
- Not stated on the pages read: DomoAI, Frameo, Higgsfield, invideo, Luma, OiiOii, OpenArt, PopShort and Topview
3Tools with a detailed reading
- Descript — A Free plan to try the editor and its AI tools
- Genmo — 250 lifetime credits on the Free plan
- HeyGen — 3 videos a month on the Free plan, each up to a minute
- Kapwing — A Free plan with 10 credits
- Krea — 100 units a day on the Free plan
- MagicLight — A free start with limited credits
- Midjourney — No free trial on the website or in Discord
- Pika — A Free plan with no monthly credits; credits come from packs
- Pippit — Free daily credits on the Free plan
- Runway — 125 one-time credits on the Free plan
- Synthesia — 500 credits and 10 minutes of video a month on the free Basic plan
4The other limits
Generations at once · Priority and slow lanes · Storage allowance · How long files stay · Seats and collaborators · Project caps · Unused plan credits · Extra credits